Cancer and our self – esteem

It’s dawned on me that Cancer destroyed much of my self – esteem. My confidence has plummeted and I don’t value myself enough. But is the root of all this due to the physical changes of the disease or is it psychological or a mixture of the two? Why when I’ve achieved so much do I feel so unsure about myself?

Feeling insecure and worrying about how you’re perceived in social situations can be a mind f*^*. I’m sure we’ve all been there at some point right?

For instance, I’m still having treatment for cancer. Every 3 weeks I go to the chemo ward and have an injection in my leg. I don’t have too many side effects but psychologically speaking I’m having a drug to try and prevent my cancer from coming back – the battle is still being fought (although in 2 months I will have completed all active treatment).

I think I feel embarrassed because other people DONT mention the cancer. That makes things awkward for me. Just asking how someone is feeling is important and it’s rarely asked with sincerity if at all. That creates all sorts of self – esteem issues and I can’t be alone in feeling this way.

People you aren’t close friends with struggle to talk about it and I have no idea why. Maybe someone would like to answer that on here.

Communication and support throughout this journey are so vital yet I find myself along with thousands of others feeling unsupported much of the time. And I think that may be the leading cause of my lack of confidence and self – worth of late.

In our busy lives it’s easy to get caught up in them and not think about others. When was the last time you asked someone how they were and genuinely meant it? I know I’m guilty of it too.

20140514-031340.jpg

One Comment

  1. mytitsandme

    After thought.

    Can I just say that I’m pretty happy in general and love life. 🙂 My posts are not just written about me, I write them because I’m aware or know of others who describe the same feelings. If it was only affecting me I generally wouldn’t write. I have a purpose for writing and sometimes a message to put across too like in this instance.

    Thanks for reading

    Like

Leave a Reply

