Well I’m a lucky man


“Happiness
Coming and going
I watch you look at me
Watch my fever growing
I know just where I am

But how many corners do I have to turn?
How many times do I have to learn
All the love I have is in my mind?

Well, I’m a lucky man
With fire in my hands”

Oh Richard Ashcroft I love thee – lyrical genius!

My interpretation of this song is this guy is feeling depressed and not seeing the wood for the trees, there seems no way out. It could be through a bereavement or any major life event that’s floored him.

But he knows that he can love life again, it’s just going to take some
time. Eventually he will get there. But actually, when he thinks about it deeply, his life is actually pretty good. He has fire in his hands – he has so much more living to do, so much still to achieve. He’s still alive his heart is still beating.

Anyway some songs just resonate and this one does just that, and got me thinking as I walked my dog this morning.

I’m lucky too. As I walk and breathe the fresh air in my lungs some young woman who is my age is taking her last breath.

Life is so precious and I feel so incredibly lucky that I’ve been given this 2nd chance to really value living and appreciate all the silly stuff that I bet you reader don’t even notice.

This is one of the best things to come out of surviving cancer. PERSPECTIVE

Not one inspirational quote could sum up what I want to say here other than try to really value your life. Don’t waste it. Think about the reasons you are lucky. All the wonderful things you have in your life that others can only dream of having.

20140521-100408-36248669.jpg

Leave a Reply

