Rome trip

“We all want things to stay the same. Settle for living in misery because we’re afraid of change, of things crumbling to ruins. Then I looked at around to this place, at the chaos it has endured – the way it has been adapted, burned, pillaged and found a way to build itself back up again. And I was reassured, maybe my life hasn’t been so chaotic, it’s just the world that is, and the real trap is getting attached to any of it. Ruin is a gift. Ruin is the road to transformation.” ” – Elizabeth Gilbert “Eat, Pray, Love”.

I’ve been to many cities. Palma, Barcelona, Amsterdam, Prague to name a few and they all have their own quirks and beauty but Rome is different from any city I’ve visited. It is a lot bigger than I imagined and I was grateful for the Metro which has two lines that run across the city.

We stayed in ancient Rome which is near the Coleseum and Roman forum. This is a very busy area during the day but very quiet by night as there is not much in the way of eateries and bars here.

The Coleseum is impressive! I actually imagined myself in there watching a mortal combat. The sheer size blew me away. It’s ten times as big as it looks in books.

image

We passed the Vatican which was the most beautiful building I’ve ever seen. It’s truly magnificent. The Spanish steps and Piazza di Spagna are pretty and a popular place to hang out and sit on the steps watching the world go by.

Sadly the Fountain  Fontana di Trevi was under restoration and completely covered up. I was so disappointed but promised myself I’d come back again soon so it didn’t matter.

The Romans I met in restaurants and coffee shops were not overly friendly or chatty and less charming than I’d imagined.  I rarely saw anyone smile or laugh. I guess they were uptight for want of a better word. Or perhaps my perception was all wrong. Nobody seems to drink cappuccino the locals seem to prefer espresso here seemingly any time of day.

The younger men in the bars were more charming and friendly but certainly not cheesy or over flirtatious like the stereotype suggest.
Many men in Rome are attractive.  They dress well and just have this air of cool about them. Whilst English guys are slightly clumsy and arkward which is endearing sometimes, Italian men are not.
I did date an Italian once and he was arrogant but of course that had nothing to do with his nationality! *did put me off for a while though*

I conclude that you could go to Rome every month for a year and still not see everything you want to see – it just has this magical beauty about it that  kind of hooks you in. It’s like a heady love affair.  You fall in love fast with this place.

image

Oh and did I mention the food?..

image

Not going to talk about the driving..

2 Comments

  1. Helen

    A lovely piece of writing again. Italy sounds lovely. Sounds like a lovely place to visit, so I shall put it on my list. Glad that you all had a lovely time there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

