My life = ;

I saw this amazing campaign in America called the semicolon project. 

They say… 

“A SEMICOLON REPRESENTS A SENTENCE THE AUTHOR COULD HAVE ENDED, BUT CHOSE NOT TO. THAT AUTHOR IS YOU AND THE SENTENCE IS YOUR LIFE.”

  
People who have suffered mental illness or had issues with self harm or suicide have a semicolon tattooed on their wrist to mark that they chose to carry on living. So powerful right? 

Anyway whilst I’ve never self harmed or tried to hurt or kill myself I really related to this campaign. 

Except my life not ending with a full stop is down to fate or medicine (which ever you want to believe), it’s not down to choice. But I don’t think that really matters. I could have stopped treatment I could have decided it was hopeless, I could have given up. 

But I didn’t give up. 

I had cancer and my life was on hold for a while, but then it continued in a rather different way from all the sentences that came before it. 

In fact I would describe my story with plenty of dot dot dots. (TO BE CONTINUED). After all why be predictable in your story when readers love the suspense and twists and turns? 

 But it’s not about everyone else it’s about me and had I not had cancer I wouldn’t have had this amazing life full of wonderful opportunities.

My life is exciting and bloody crazy at times, but it’s so weird as like the cancer it all feels as though it’s happening to someone else. 

So this is my plot twist. Cancer nearly killed me but it lead me to follow my heart and go after my dreams. It made me realise I’m capable of anything, I CAN DO ANYTHING, and so can anyone, and you don’t need a near death experience to change the meaning of your life; but I guess it makes it easier…

Leave a Reply

