Why it’s ok to say good morning to strangers.

Where I’m from in Sarf London, we are very reserved and all walk around with this stiff upper lip. Strangers would not dare talk to each other although there’s the exception of dog walkers and the elderly.

If someone ever said good morning to me it used to freak me out a bit.Even when people smiled at me I deemed it rather creepy. 

People say that Londoners are unfriendly compared to northerners but I disagree. I don’t think it’s unfriendliness, more a conditioning and an awkwardness of the idea of talking to strangers. 

Anyway, when I’m down in the Sussex villages everybody says hello and everybody says good morning. People have conversations with you and I actually quite like it! It actually makes me feel good, and when someone smiles at me I can’t help but smile back. 

So I’ve started saying hello to everyone and smiling at people in the street. It’s actually rather addictive. 

You know that old saying “smile and the whole world smiles with you?” It’s true, try it! 

  

Leave a Reply

