Who’s that girl? 

When you look in the mirror what do you see? What if you had to describe how you viewed yourself in just one word? 

It’s hard right?!

 

When I look in the mirror I see a girl staring back at me who has been through so much trauma and sadness and lived a life full of drama. But ultimately I see a survivor. And that’s how I would describe myself. 

It’s actually quite funny that I refer to myself as a survivor because my mum used to say exactly the same thing to me when I was little. But  I never really knew what she meant back then.  In all honesty I thought it derogatory actually, like she was insinuating I was always in trouble and managed to get out of it.  But she didn’t mean that. She meant that I was strong. Even when I was 6 years old she knew I was strong and brave, it must have radiated from me somehow. 

I’ve survived so many more things since then. I know she’d be saying I told you so were she alive today.  But I finally understand what she meant and how amazing she thought I was even back then. That’s really important to me to realise that. 

It’s not often my own blog posts make me cry, but this one did (in a good way of course)

X

Leave a Reply

