Truths in life we must accept 

“Accept certain inalienable truths, prices will rise, politicians will philander, you too will get old, and when you do you’ll fantasize that when you were young prices were reasonable, politicians were noble and children respected their elders.”

Everything I’m going to talk about below is a given. It’s going to happen in the future or its already happening. Hard truths are just that because they are difficult to think about and hard to accept but acceptance is actually a great thing because it means you’re free.

 

Here I’m going to discuss some hard truths and tell you why I don’t think they are necessarily that bad after all:

You aren’t that important in the grand scheme of things.

Yeah I don’t like this one  either, my ego is pained, but it’s true! Of course you should view yourself as important, you should be your number 1, but you aren’t number 1 priority for everyone else.  It’s ok to want respect and attention but not demand it. We must realise that not everyone wants to give us their attention and not everybody is interested in us. But so what?! Just be you’re own number 1 in life, put yourself first but don’t forget to think of others along the way.

It’s ok to be wrong and admit you’re wrong

People are stubborn and full of bullshitting pride that they often refuse to say sorry to others for their actions. This is down to not being rational and  people only thinking about themselves and  how they feel. 

To see a situation clearly you must try to put yourself in the other persons shoes and try to see their side. There are reasons people are the way they are. Try to be understanding. It’s hard admitting you’re wrong but holding on to anger is draining and a waste of time. 

People will dislike you 

It’s impossible for everyone to like you.  Sometimes it’s a personality clash or you exhibit certain traits that others don’t like. Sometimes it’s not even about you and it’s about them. 

People are often threatened by good looks, talent or success. Jealousy is in us all. It’s an ugly emotion but a perfectly natural one. There’s nothing you can do apart from just keep being you and don’t worry about the people who don’t like you. They don’t matter, they are irrelevant. The best relationship you will ever have is with yourself. Make sure that you like you..

You’re going to die 

I was never worried about death until I had breast cancer and then it was ALL I worried about! Then somewhere along the line I just kind of accepted it. 

There’s nothing you or I can do about death. You just have to have faith that fate will be kind and we have many years on this earth. I made a promise to myself that I would make this life I lead fulfilling and worthwhile. I would do great things and do everything that my heart desires so that when the time does come I know that I made the most of my life and seized every opportunity that came my way.

X

Leave a Reply

