Today is the best day.

 It is surely a skill to live in the present and be truly happy. 
Impatient me wants everything to happen now and I’m constantly daydreaming about the future. Reflective me and the saboteur in me dwells on the past and wonders what if things could of been different? This is interspersed with berating myself for stupid things I said and did). So you see I’m never really fully enjoying the moment am I?  

 I love this quote below from the film About time. It’s about time travel but it also applies to life. We all travel in time but through memory recall and our imagination. But perhaps whilst it’s good to have fond memories of the past and big dreams for the future, real happiness is found in today… 

“The truth is I now don’t travel back at all. Not even for the day. I just try to live every day as if I’ve deliberately come back to this one day, to enjoy it. As if it was the full final day of my extraordinary ordinary life.”

Leave a Reply

