Beach/bitch life 

Hello. Here I am on the beach approaching chemo 5/6 this week (11 in total)! 

I feel like treatment has been tough these last 15 weeks, but much easier than the first time and I think that’s because I’ve made less fuss and just got on with it. I feel a bit guilty complaining about how terrible I feel when it’s letting me do most things I want to do. 

I’m really starting to notice how little charities seem to care about women with mets! It’s all about early diagnosis or early breast cancer. The latest load of money has been thrown at a new test to determine if a woman’s breast cancer will spread later on and determine whether they should have chemo or not.  This is all well and good but a similar test already  exists and I’m not sure this is the best use of people’s money.  1 in 3 of us will get secondary cancer, but nobody, not even charities seem to want to acknowledge this. Chemo didn’t help us as here we are, 33.3 percent of us diagnosed with mets – incurable. We are the uncomfortable stats, the imperfect dolls that get thrown in the reject bin. This is why charities love to tell you the good stats. 95 percent of people with breast cancer will live for 5 years they say, yet ladies with mets only live for an average of 3 years – who shouts about that? Well I am! 

I probably sound like a bitch. It’s not that I don’t care about women who have early stage cancer, of course I do, but us mets ladies don’t have a choice. It’s chemo/treatment for life or we snuff it. 

I hope more money is ploughed in to finding a cure for us or treating it as a chronic disease and letting us live long and happy lives… 

X

